Final candidate list for May 15 election

March 21, 2007

Here is the final list of candidates for the May 15 spring election:


* Hood River School District Board (three positions open):

Position 1 — Liz Whitmore (incumbent)

Position 3 — Kateri Osborne Lohr.

Position 5 — Bob Danko (appointee)

Hood River School District School Committees:

Cascade Locks K-12 (three positions) — Leif Fox and Ken Wittenburg

Hood River Middle School (three positions) — Leslie Kerr, Sally Donovan, and Cindy Walbridge

Hood River Valley High School (three positions) — Karyn Temte Lloyd, Ellen Mallon

May Street Elementary (three positions) — Paul Blackburn, Socorro Quezada, and Kassen Bergstrom

Mid Valley Elementary (three positions) — Denise Endow

Parkdale Elementary (three positions) — Les Perkins and Roxanne Blaine

Pine Grove Elementary (three positions) — Cindy Blachly, Felipe Castaneda and Mark Crompton

Westside Elementary (three positions) — Debbie Dorich, Christopher Van Tilburg, and Renee Van de Griend


* Port of Cascade Locks (three positions open):

Position 1 — Kathy Woosley (incumbent)

Position 2 — Jean McLean (incumbent) and Don R. Haight

Position 3 — Tim Lee (incumbent)

* Port of Hood River (two positions open):

Position 4 — Sherry Bohn (incumbent)

Position 5 — Hoby Streich (incumbent)


* Odell Rural Fire Protection District (three positions open):

Position 3 — Chuck Weseman

Position 4 — Rodney Hasty

Position 5 —Eric Cederstam

* Parkdale Rural Fire Protection District:

Director Position 1 — John F. Marker

Director Position 2 — Doug Sharkey

Director Position 3 — Leonard L. Aubert

* Pine Grove Rural Fire Protection District:

Position 3 — Gary L. Willis

Position 4 — Leonard Wood

Position 5 — Daniel W. Sheppard

* West Side Rural Fire Protection District:

Position 3 — Steve Benton

Position 4 — Brian Lay

Position 5 — Mark T. Beam


* Crystal Springs Water District:

Position 1 — Mick Swyers

Position 4 — Gorham Blaine

Position 5 — Larry Brown

* Ice Fountain Water District:

Position 4 — Randy Franz and Brad Fowler

Position 5 — Don Decker


* Odell Sanitary District:

Director Position 3 — John Alley


* Hood River County Transportation District:

Board member Position 3 — Nancy Moller

Board member Position 5 — Bill Byrne

Board member Position 6 — Thomas Penchoen

Board member Position 7 — Paul Randall

* Hood River Valley Parks and Recreation District:

Position 3 — Art Carroll and Judy Nelson

Position 4 — Ross Brown

Position 5 — Glenna M. Mahurin

* Columbia Gorge Community College board:

Position 3 — Dave Fenwick

Position 4 — Christie C. Reed

Position 6 — Stu Watson.

* Region 9 ESD board: Zone 6 — Jenny Copper

* Mt. Hood Community College District: Director, Position 6, at large — Beverly A. Russell; Director, Position 7, at large — Ralph A. Yates


No one filed for the following positions:

* Parkdale Sanitary District has two positions open for four-year terms and one for an unexpired two-year term — no candidate filed

* Cascade Locks K-12 (three positions) — one position vacant

* Hood River Valley High School (three positions) — one position vacant

* Mid Valley Elementary (three positions) —two positions vacant

* Parkdale Elementary (three positions) — one position vacant

* Wy’east Middle School Committee (three positions) — no candidate filed

* Region 9 ESD board: Zone 5 — no candidate filed

All positions begin July 1, 2007.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)