Filing time: Candidates’ deadline is Thursday


News staff writer

March 10, 2007

The deadline to file as a candidate for spring elections comes this Thursday. The spring election will be held May 15. As of March 9, those who have filed include the following:


Hood River School District Board (three positions open)

Position No. 1 — Liz Whitmore (incumbent)

Position No. 3 — none filed

Position No. 5 — Bob Danko (appointee)

Hood River School District school committees (three positions per school)

Cascade Locks K-12 — none filed

Hood River Middle School — none filed

Hood River Valley High School — Karen Temte Lloyd, Ellen Mallon

May Street Elementary — Paul Blackburn, Socorro Quezada

Mid Valley Elementary — none filed

Pine Grove Elementary — Cindy Blachly

Parkdale Elementary — Les Perkins

Westside Elementary — none filed

Wy’east Middle School — none filed


Port of Cascade Locks (three positions open)

Position No. 1 — Kathy Woosley (incumbent)

Position No. 2 — Jean McLean (incumbent)

Position No. 3 — Tim Lee (incumbent)

Port of Hood River (two positions open)

Position No. 4 — Sherry Bohn (incumbent)

Position No. 5 — Hoby Streich (incumbent)


Odell Rural Fire Protection District (three positions open) — Eric Cederstam, Charles Weseman, and Rodney Hasty

Parkdale Rural Fire Protection District has positions for area #1 and #2 open, each for four years. — John Marker, Doug Sharkey

Position #3 is open for two years. — none filed

Pine Grove Rural Fire Protection District has three board member positions open, each for a four year term — Gary Willis

West Side Rural Fire Protection District (two positions open) — Steve Benton, Mark Beam, Brian Lay


Crystal Springs Water District has three positions available, each for four years — Mick Swyers

Ice Fountain Water District has two positions open, each for four years — Don Decker


Odell Sanitary District has one position open for a four-year term and one position for an unexpired two-year term — none filed

Parkdale Sanitary District has two positions open for four-year terms and one for an unexpired two-year term — none filed


Hood River County Transportation District (three positions open) — Paul Randall, Bill Byrne, and Cliff Nakamura

Hood River Valley Parks and Recreation District (three positions open) — Art Carroll, Glenna M. Mahurin, Ross Brown, Judith Nelson

Columbia Gorge Community College board: positions three, four, and six — none filed

Region 9 ESD board: zones five and six — none filed

All positions begin July 1, 2007.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)