Rick Steber’s ‘A Promise Given’ wins USA Best Book award

“A Promise Given,” a book by central Oregon author Rick Steber, has been chosen as a finalist for the 2012 USA Best Book Awards in the category of Best Non-Fiction.

Jeffrey Keen, president and CEO of USA Book Awards, now in its 10th year, said, “The 2012 results represent a phenomenal mix of books from a wide array of publishers throughout the United States.” Keen went on to say that he considered “A Promise Given” to be “a remarkable book” and noted it had been chosen from more than 1,500 entries.

“A Promise Given” is a true story dealing with the many diverse issues each of us must face at decisive points during our lifetimes: love, loss, the complexities of growing old, and how each of us has the opportunity to directly effect the environment in which we live. This fast-paced narrative quickly pulls the reader into a Northwest setting and the time period surrounding World War II.

Odell High School graduate Trevor Russell enlists in the service and returns home to attend college and become an elementary school teacher. He falls in love, and through a lasting marriage spanning nearly six decades, the couple is forced to meet the challenge of having to remove their son from life support, one of them battles a terrible disease and finally they escape to live on a remote ranch in Eastern Oregon 60 miles from the nearest town. It is here that Trevor makes a promise to his dying wife, promising to bring the mountain bluebirds back to Oregon. He fulfills that promise by building bird houses.

Trevor has built, and put up, more than a thousand birdhouses. Because of his determined efforts, the beautiful mountain bluebirds are making a strong comeback on the High Desert, and spreading across Oregon and beyond. This proves that each of us in our daily lives have the opportunity, and responsibility, to try and make a positive impact on our world.

Rick Steber, of Prineville, has more than 30 titles under his belt and more than a million books in print. He has won numerous national and international awards and is the only Oregon author to have won the prestigious

Western Writers

of America Spur Award — Best Western Novel.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)