Ballots go out

County will decide on four contested races for 16 districts

Ballots will be mailed Friday for the May 21 Hood River County Special Districts levy.

April 30, 5 p.m. was the last opportunity to file for the election, at the County Building, Sixth and State.

Anyone with a change of address or ballot status should inform the elections office prior to May 21.

Ballots should arrive by Saturday or Monday; call 541-386-1442 next week if you are registered and have not received your ballot by then.

Candidates for 16 different special taxing districts are on the May 21 ballot. These include every port, education, water, sanitation, parks, transportation and fire district in the county.

There will be a total of four contested races on the ballot, in addition to a write-in campaign for one school board position.

Mary Reynolds of Mt. Hood, a kindergarten teacher in The Dalles, has announced her write-in campaign against Mark Johnson, Zone 6 incumbent and long-time school member.

Zone 6 runs across the east side of mid- and lower-Hood River valley and includes lower Neal Creek Road, and east Odell.

Jan Veldhuisen Virk, the longest-tenured board member, will have a challenger in Tim Counihan of the May Street area in Hood River in the at-large position for the Hood River County School District Board of Directors.

Newcomers David Russo and Julia Ramirez will run unopposed for the other two open school board seats, currently held by James Sims and Jeff Kopecky, who decided not to seek reelection.

Four men are running for three positions on the Wy’East Fire District board: Rodney Hasty, Chuck Weseman, Rob Graves and Eric Cedarstam.

Four candidates signed up for two positions on the Hood River Valley Parks and Recreation Commission: Rob Kovacich, Renee Vandegriend, John Everitt and Greg Davis.

In the Odell Sanitary District there are two positions and three hopefuls: Steven Smith, Butch Gehrig and Bob Duddles.

Hood River Port commissioners Fred Duckwall, Jon Davies and Rich McBride each filed for re-election, with no challengers.

In Cascade Locks, Jess Groves, Joeinne Caldwell and Scott Sullenger all filed for re-election for Port seats — all are unopposed.

Charlene Fort, Paul Zastrow and Susan Gabay will run unopposed for three positions on the Columbia Gorge Education Service District board.

Also on the ballot are positions on the boards of Mt. Hood Community College (serving Cascade Locks) and the Hood River Library District.


April 30 is the last day to register to vote for the Hood River County Special Districts election on May 21.

To register, visit the County Elections Office, in the County Administration Building, Sixth and State streets, Hood River. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)