Middle school football ends successful seasons

Eighth-grade team

Hood River’s eighth-grade middle school football team went 4-2 this season in what coach David Hough says was a “great season with a lot of guys learning the true meaning of ‘team.’”

The team, made up of players from both Wy’east and Hood River middle schools, opened the season with a 16-14 loss against The Dalles and closed the season on a sweet note with a 20-6 victory over the same team.

“The best, and saddest part of the season was the last game,” Hough said. “Even though we won, the team didn’t want to leave the field that night. That was because we became a team with one big heartbeat, and these young men felt it. As a coach it was a great honor to work with these great young men.”

Also this season the team defeated Corbett 28-8, Redmond’s Obsidian Middle School 18-14 and Pendleton 19-12.

Team members were Cade Parker, Donald Euwer, Andrew Hall, Peiyton Slatt, Trenton Hough, Jovan Dubon, Michael Jones, Jason Shaner, Jonah Tactay, Patrick Estes, Edgar Marquez, Jesus Ochoa, Derrick Humble, Adam Harter, Luke Harter, Gage Hutson, Jayden Pedrotti, Wade Pickering, Daniel Matthews-Dominquez, Omar Barajs, Dylan Castillas, Brycen Polzel, Jayce Cunningham, Levi Geller, Alonzo Garcia, Tanner Wells, Dakota Kurahara, Connor Coerper, Adrian Ramirez, Aspen Dawson and coaches Hough, Troy Tactay, Clyde Parker and Devon Wells.

Seventh-grade team

Hood River’s seventh-grade middle school football team went undefeated this season, outscoring their opponents 225 points to six in five games. Led by coaches Sal Rivera, Ronny Stewart, Rob Leiblein and Jeff Hasegawa, the boys allowed only one touchdown on a kickoff return the entire season, while scoring an average of 45 points per game against their competitors from The Dalles, Obsidian, Elton Gregory and Pendleton middle schools. Coach Rivera said the size wasn’t the winning factor for the boys, it was quickness and agility.

Team members were Ben Ahrens, Johnny Alejandrez, Hunter Asai, Isaac Beaman, Miles Broddie, German Diaz, Jacob Enriquez, Carson Flores, Kohl Garrett, Gage Kennedy, Fernando Marquez, Chris McElwee, Isaac Phelps, Nathaniel Quintanilla, Ben Routsen, Matthew Tichenor, Manny Trejo, Dawson Neal, Brandon Rivera, Payton Stewart, Michael Hasegawa, Caden Leiblein, Beto Rojas and coaches Sal Rivera, Ronny Stewart, Rob Leiblein and Jeff Hasegawa.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)