HRV Hall of Fame Committee announces inductees

2014 class: two teams and five individuals

The Hood River Valley High School Athletic Hall of Fame Committee recently announced its list of inductees for the 2014 class. Among the athletes being honored for their past accomplishments are five individuals and two teams from HRVHS and one individual from Cascade Locks High School.

The annual tradition, introduced eight years ago by former HRVHS Athletic Director Brent Walsh, is a way for standout athletes of the past to be remembered and reunited, and for current and future classes to see the names and faces of those who helped establish the traditions of excellence at the core of HRV athletics.

The class will be formally introduced later in the year, on Sept. 26, during a halftime ceremony of the HRV vs. Redmond varsity football game, followed the next day by the annual Hall of Fame Golf Tournament and the Hall of Fame banquet and auction.

This year’s inductees are as follows: Phil Nolin (1972), Pepe Quintanilla (1981), Robin Phillips (1990), Michael Harpe (1990), Kim Goe (1997), Adam Lapierre (1999), the 1974 varsity boys ski team and the 1988 HRV baseball team.

Selections each year are made by the HRVHS Hall of Fame committee based on certain criteria. Current HRV Athletic Director, Keith Bassham, explains, “The number-one criteria is to have been a state champion, a state champion team or have gone on to have outstanding placement outside of Hood River Valley,” he said. “We also go back in time. Some teams may not have been state champions, but were the best teams of a sport for that school.”

The committee usually chooses about five individuals and two teams for each year, although that has varied somewhat over the last seven years. Once the class is chosen, one challenge the committee faces is locating and getting in contact with everyone on the list. These days that task is easier than ever, but the committee generally still needs assistance locating a few.

This year, Bassham is looking for help from the community in locating Kim Goe, Dick Jensen, Pete Pattison, Jamie Stencil, Mike Johnston, Rick Johnson and Steve Dukhart. Anyone who knows how to get in touch with these individuals is asked to contact Bassham at 541-386-2318 or

Starting with Cascade Locks High School’s representative, Nolin was a member of the school’s 1968-72 varsity basketball team. He went on to play collegiately at Mt. Hood Community College and the Oregon College of Education, then professionally in Australia, before returning home to coach the CLHS team.

Quintanilla was a member of the Eagles’ 1980 state championship baseball team and was selected as First Team All-Conference and First Team All-State the following year.

Phillips was a member of HRVHS’s first state qualifying boys soccer team in 1990; that year he was selected as a First Team All-State player for the 3A level.

Help locate

The Hall of Fame Committee is seeking help from the community in locating the following individuals from this year’s class: Kim Goe, Dick Jensen, Pete Pattison, Jamie Stencil, Mike Johnston, Rick Johnson and Steve Dukhart.

To provide information, contact Keith Bassham at 541-386-2318.

Harpe was a member of the 1988 and 1989 2A state champion baseball teams and was a member of the 1989 2A state championship football team. He was selected as an All-Conference Football, Basketball and Baseball player and was named First Team All-State receiver and defensive back, honorable mention 2A All-State basketball and First Team 2A All State pitcher.

Goe was a member of the 1996 4A state champion softball team and was named First Team All-State in 1996 and third team All-State in 1997.

Lapierre won 125-pound district (Mt. Hood Conference) and 4A state wrestling titles in 1999.

The 1974 varsity boys ski team claimed the league and state championships (second team and second ski championship in school history). The team was comprised of Tom Ewald, Dick Jensen, Mike Lariza, Cary Mallon, Don Pattison, Pete Pattison, Brian Paasch and Coach Roy Nellermoe.

1988 varsity baseball team was Tri Valley conference champion and 2A state champion (third baseball title in school history). The team was comprised of Martin Sanders, Jamie Stencil, Mike Williams, Jeff Zeller, Jason Bratt, Mike Johnston, Tyson Jacobs, Frankie Zeller, Dan Taylor, Rick Johnson, Greg Shaull, Jeff Mansur, Mark Beam, Shane Losee, Mike Harpe, Chris Weekly, Eric Walker, Greg Lewis, Steve Dukart and Coaches Glenn Elliott and Larry Bowe.


The 8th Annual HOF golf tournament is a fundraiser for the HRVHS athletic department. The scramble tournament will be Sept. 27, with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. In addition to recruiting players and teams to make the tournament a success, the HOF committee is seeking sponsors for each of the 18 holes at the course. Sponsorship is $225 per hole and will include recognition via several outlets as well as signage at each hole during the tournament.

The HOF banquet is the night of Sept. 27 at the Hood River Inn, and among the activities is a fundraiser auction and raffle, for which organizers are seeking items and service donations.

For sponsorship, donations or to register for the golf tournament, contact Bassham at or call 541-386-2318.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)