HRVHS artists, writers win awards

‘Keys to Talent:’ students excel in creative works

Hood River Valley High School honored artists and writers on Friday with an all-school Fine Arts assembly.

Students were recognized for their winning entries in the Scholastic Art and Writing awards. Awards were given in first (Gold Key), second (Silver Key) and honorable mention categories.

The competition is open to students throughout the United States and at American schools overseas, said HRVHS art teacher Amirra Malak. Awards were given at the regional level, with those earning Gold Keys going on to compete at the national level.

“The competition opens students up to scholarship opportunities and is a nationally recognized competition,” Malak said.

According to the Scholastic Art and Writing awards website (, 255,000 original works were submitted during the 2014 program year. Awards alumni include artist Andy Warhol, writers Sylvia Plath and Joyce Carol Oates, and filmmaker Ken Burns.

Winners of the Scholastic Art and Writing awards in the category of art:

Tess Johnson, Silver Key, “Unlocked”

Megan Dayley, Honorable Mention, “Dreaming of Stardust;” Gold Key, “Journey to the Light”

Paulina Le, Silver Key, “Perspective Priorities”

Bayley Stevens, Honorable Mention, “Body Flow;” Honorable Mention, “Man Made Nature”

Makena Zeller, Gold Key, “Flow”

Brynn Searcy, Gold Key, “Disparity”

Andrew McCarthy, Honorable Mention, “The Rebellious Sea”

Cayla Sacre, Silver Key, “Faceless;” Honorable mention, “Unpotted Plant”

Veronica Marquez, Honorable Mention, “Beautiful Form”

Emily Mason, Silver Key, “Fairy Land Forest”

Amy Griffin, Honorable Mention, “Reflection”

Callie Crumpacker, Gold Key, “Wrinkles”

Emma Casey, Honorable Mention, “Visage”

Savanna Brentlinger, Silver Key, “Tangled Apart”

Summer Bogard, Silver Key, “The Shallow Sea”

Olivia Acosta, Honorable Mention, “Only Soil”

Winners of the Scholastic Art and Writing awards in the category of writing:

Lindsey Hegemann: Honorable Mention, Science Fiction/Fantasy, “Do You Dream of the End”

Olivia Newcomb: Honorable Mention, Short Story, “A Rose by Any Other Name”

Cayla Sacre: Honorable Mention, Poetry, “All For You;” Silver Key, Dramatic Script, “The Middle Ground”

A handful of students were additionally honored for their entries in the Oregon College of Art and Craft’s 2015 Juried High School Art Show. A representative from the college selected pieces from the following high school artists: Andrew McCarthy, Fenn Paider, Rianna Piatt, America Flores, Wendy Garcia, Brynn Searcy, Amy Griffin, Jamarah Wilson, Savannah Boersma and Summer Bogard.

All entries will be on display in the Hoffman Gallery at Oregon College of Art and Craft through March 4.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)