Eagles rack up All-Conference awards

More than 50 HRV athletes, as well as five coaches, are honored with awards after a stellar fall sports season

One of the best fall sports seasons, if not the best fall sports seasons in the history of Hood River Valley High School concluded the week before last, culminating with the boys soccer team’s second-consecutive 5A state title.

HRV ruled the roost this season in the Columbia River Conference, with boys soccer, girls soccer, volleyball, and boys cross country winning the CRC. Water polo also found success, with both the boys and girls taking the top spots in the Metro 5A Conference.

Consequently, both HRV players and coaches alike recently received a heap of All-Conference awards, with every team receiving at least some sort of recognition by their peers in their respective conferences. Here is the long list of honors HRV received this season:


First team: Quarterback: Dallas Buckley (12). Running back: Michael Jones (10). Utility: Parker Irusta (12). Tight end: Montana Kurahara (12). Offensive lineman: Sam Fults (12). Defensive lineman: Fults. Linebacker: Zak Ellsworth (12). Defensive back: Irusta.

Second team: Wide receiver: Kellan Duffy (12) and Tyrone Stintzi (12). Offensive lineman: Bryson Gudiel (12). Center: Wyatt Mansfield (11). Defensive lineman: Kurahara and Max Lane (12). Linebacker: Andy Schmidt (12). Defensive back: Morgan Williams (11).

Honorable Mention: Offensive lineman: Cesar Barajas (12). Defensive lineman: Justin Wilson. Defensive back: Levi Glass (11), Stintzi.

Offensive Player of the Year: Buckley.

Boys soccer:

First team: Midfielder: Noe Magana (11) and Mario Sandoval (12). Forward: Andres Baeza (12). Defender: Gil Evangelista (12).

Second team: Midfielder: Noah Noteboom (12) and Orlando DeLaTorre (11). Defender: Carlos Marquez (12) and Eduardo Barragan (12).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Marco Cuevas.

Player of the Year: Magana.

Coach of the Year: Jaime Rivera.

Girls soccer:

First team: Midfielder: Cielo Rivera (10) and Kassidy Davidson (12). Forward: Sindy Magana (12). Defender: Jenissa Ramirez (12) and Kara Kiyokawa (12).

Second team: Midfielder: Ami Santillan (11) and Claire Davies (10). Defender: Yahaira Chavarria (10).

Player of the Year: Ramirez.

Coach of the Year: Kevin Haspela.


First team: Outside hitter: Shae Duffy (10). Libero: Rebecca Johnston (11). Setter: Emily Curtis (9). Middle blocker: Katie Kennedy (9).

Coach of the Year: Scott Walker.

Cross Country:

Boys (first team): Justin Crosswhite (12), Quinn Fetkenhour, Connor Truax (10).

Girls (first team): Daisy Dolan (11), Lauren Robinson (12), Josie Petersen (9).

Coach of the Year: Brandon Bertram.

Water polo:


First team field players: Myles Cameron (12) and Arthur Finstad. First team goalie: Adam Cameron (11).

Second team: Russel Grim (12).

Honorable Mention: Chad Klaas (9), Cole Rothman (10), and Blake Winner (12).

Player of the Year: Myles Cameron.

Coach of the Year: Dave Cameron.


Second team field players: Lauren Orr (10) and Jamie Robinson (9). Second team goalie: Kat McElderry (10).

Honorable Mention: Rose Finstad (10) and Jocelyn Pedrotti (12).

Check an upcoming edition of the Hood River News for All-State award announcements.

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)