Secretary of State finalizes names for May 17 election

Oregon Secretary of State Jeanne P. Atkins has released the final list of candidates to appear on the 2016 Democratic and Republican Presidential Primary ballots for Oregon’s May 17 primary election.

Sign Rules

Kim Kean of County Elections issued these reminders about political signs. Under state law:

• Do not place political signs along a state, county or city right of way (this includes streets and sidewalks)

• Campaign signs are not allowed on trees, utility poles, fence posts, or other natural features in the right of way

• Signs are allowed on private property so long as they are limited to 12 square feet, and don’t have flashing lights or animated parts

• Oregon election law prohibits campaign signs inside or within 100 feet of any entrance to a state or local government elections office building designated for the deposit of ballots from the date ballots are mailed and ending on election day

• Do not post lawn signs so that they can be seen from scenic corridors

• Obtain permission from a private landowner before placing a sign

• A private landowner has the right to remove or destroy a sign placed on their property without their permission

“Campaigns for both the Democratic and Republican nomination for president are not showing signs of slowing down,” said Atkins. “While the role Oregon’s May primary will play in the race for delegates is unclear at this point, I want Oregonians to know their options for participating in this upcoming historic primary.”

Oregon will hold three major party primaries on May 17 by the Democratic Party, the Independent Party of Oregon, and the Republican Party. The final lists are as follows, in alphabetical order:

Democrat: Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders

Republican: Ted Cruz, John Kasich, Donald Trump

Although the Independent Party of Oregon will not have a candidate in the Presidential primary, IPO members or those who request IPO ballots will be able to write in a candidate and be able to vote in any other contested primaries that may be on the IPO ballot.

Oregon law allows major parties to decide whether to hold “open” or “closed” primaries. In this year’s May Primary, both the Democratic and Republican parties will hold “closed” primaries — meaning that a voter must be registered with that party by April 26 to participate in its primary election.

This May, the Independent Party of Oregon will hold its first primary as a major party. Their primary will be “open” to all non-affiliated voters in the state, as well those voters registered as members of the Independent Party of Oregon. Voters who want to participate in the Independent Party of Oregon primary while maintaining their status as a non-affiliated voter should contact their county clerk’s office by 5 p.m. on April 26.

Oregonians can register to vote or change their party registration at As part of a public education effort by Oregon’s Secretary of State, the Elections Division began sending notifications to each of the state’s approximately 540,000 non-affiliated voters on Tuesday to help make those voters aware of their options to participate in the May primary elections.

More information on voting and a link to register to vote online can be found at

News and information from our partners


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site. A user's first several comments must be manually approved by a moderator.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)